April 21, 2021

Sometimes life destroys you. 
Sometimes it burns you to the ground. 

In March 2021 that’s what happened to me. 

In just 4 weeks I went from happily-ever-after to widowed-mother-of-five after making a dark and twisted discovery about my husband. 

Rather than be consumed by the fire, I choose to be transformed. 

This is my story.
Watch me rise.

🔥

Four weeks ago, life as I knew it was completely shattered. I received a phone call revealing that the man I married, the man I had known and loved since I was 12, had been severely deceiving me and hurting our child for years.

I went completely numb.

At first my mind said, No.

No way, not true, didn’t happen.

But then I heard the facts. And it was like a punch right to the gut. Repeatedly.

It was true.

It had happened.

My worst nightmare had come to life…

I couldn’t breathe.

I couldn’t speak.

Everything went blank.

I hung up the phone, gathered up my babies and went straight to the authorities without a second thought.

Four weeks ago my whole world fell apart.

Survivor instincts kicked in and over the next few weeks I went to into auto-pilot, doing everything and anything I could to protect my children.

I cried. I screamed. I raged. I fell to my knees and cried out in anguish to God.

I’ve questioned myself and replayed the memories and tried figuring out where it all went so wrong… what did I do? What didn’t I do? Why wasn’t I ever enough?

I had known my marriage was broken, that my husband was sick and refused to seek treatment; but I didn’t realize the depth of his demons and I was determined to stay true to my word…

…for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health…

In the end, it was never about me. It wasn’t even about us. The man had ailments he wouldn’t acknowledge… pain he couldn’t admit… torment he’d never escape. An avid defender of freedom, he never truly was free.

I pray that now he is finally at peace. That he atoned for his sins and found the release he so desperately sought in life.

…until death do us part. 🕊

We will always miss you, Aric, and forever grieve what should have been. Rest in peace.

#mentalhealthawareness #mensmentalhealth #normalizetherapy #askforhelp #addiction #breakthesilence #breakthecycle #SpeakUpSpeakOut #metoo

Abuse isn’t always black and blue. If you or someone you know needs help, please reach out to Flight of the Phoenix Collective. We’ve got your back.

Published by Krystal Casey

Founder and registered Yoga teacher Krystal Casey is a mom of five who discovered Yoga in 2014 as a way to help cope with her own postpartum depression and anxiety. As a woman with a history of trauma, motherhood had unlocked a portal of pain she didn't realized existed within her. Years of traditional therapy and medication had proved unsuccessful, so Krystal began searching for a more natural alternative of healing. This began the journey that led her to Yoga. Inspired by the positive changes she experienced, Krystal became an online health and fitness coach to support other women with similar struggles. She soon found herself training to teach various fitness classes and certified by the American Council of Exercise (ACE) as a group fitness instructor. In 2018, while opening what she designed to be a dance-fitness studio, Krystal discovered the beauty that is Aerial Yoga and instantly fell in love! She has since certified in Aerial Yoga, Yoga for Kids, and Yoga for Children with Special Needs. In 2021 Krystal and her family faced tragedy once again; her husband was charged with several felony counts of sexual abuse against a minor and he overdosed on methamphetamine and alcohol before justice was served. This devastated her. But with 5 sets of eyes watching and impressionable hearts learning, she refused to give up. Instead, she returned to her practice and her tribe, and let them carry her through it. Now, she uses her training and these experiences to help women overcome trauma and the challenges it brings.

One thought on “April 21, 2021

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.